dr.ir. A. van Garrel (Arne)

Assistant Professor


Engineering & Materials Science
Boundary Layers
Flow Simulation
Particle Interactions
Vortex Flow
Wind Turbines
Physics & Astronomy
Wind Turbines


Vaithiyanathasamy, R. , Özdemir, H., Bedon, G. , & van Garrel, A. (2018). A double wake model for interacting boundary layer methods. In 2018 Wind Energy Symposium American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics. https://doi.org/10.2514/6.2018-0516
Saverin, J., Marten, D., Pechlivanoglou, G., Paschereit, C. O. , & Van Garrel, A. (2018). Implementation of the multi-level multi-integration cluster method to the treatment of vortex particle interactions for fast wind turbine wake simulations. In Oil and Gas Applications; Supercritical CO2 Power Cycles; Wind Energy (Vol. 9). American Society of Mechanical Engineers. https://doi.org/10.1115/GT2018-76554
Kolkman, D. , de Santana, L. D. , van Garrel, A. , Venner, C. H., León, A. A. , & Sanders, M. P. J. (2018). Experimental characterization of vortex generators induced noise of wind turbines. In 2018 AIAA/CEAS Aeroacoustics Conference Article AIAA 2018-2800 American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics. https://doi.org/10.2514/6.2018-2800
van Garrel, A., ten Pas, S. , Venner, C. H., & van Muijden, J. (2018). Wind Turbine Aerodynamics from an Aerospace Perspective. Paper presented at 2018 Wind Energy Symposium, Kissimmee, Florida, United States. https://doi.org/10.2514/6.2018-0991

UT Research Information System

Courses Academic Year  2023/2024

Courses in the current academic year are added at the moment they are finalised in the Osiris system. Therefore it is possible that the list is not yet complete for the whole academic year.

Courses Academic Year  2022/2023

Contact Details

Visiting Address

University of Twente
Faculty of Engineering Technology
Horst Complex (building no. 20)
De Horst 2
7522LW  Enschede
The Netherlands

Navigate to location

Mailing Address

University of Twente
Faculty of Engineering Technology
Horst Complex
P.O. Box 217
7500 AE Enschede
The Netherlands