prof.dr.ir. D.A.I. Marpaung (David)

Full Professor

About Me

David Marpaung is a full professor and the chairholder of the Nonlinear Nanophotonics group. He is a fellow of Optica (formerly OSA). 

David received his Ph.D. degree in electrical engineering from the University of Twente, the Netherlands in 2009. From 2009 to 2012 he was a postdoctoral researcher in the University of Twente, working on microwave photonic system integration for optical beamforming. He joined CUDOS University of Sydney, Australia in August 2012 as a research fellow. From 2015 to 2017 he was a senior research fellow leading the nonlinear integrated microwave photonics research activities in CUDOS University of Sydney.

David was the recipient of the 2015 Discovery Early Career Research Award (DECRA) from the Australian Research Council and the 2017 Vidi award and the 2018 START UP grant from the Netherlands Organisation for Scientific Research (NWO). In 2022 he received the ERC Consolidator grant. 

His research interests include RF photonics, photonic integration, nonlinear optics, and phononics. For more information visit his research group website.


Physics & Astronomy
Engineering & Materials Science
Stimulated Brillouin Scattering

Ancillary Activities

  • Bandung Insitute of Technology (ITB)
    Visiting professor at ITB Indonesia


My group performs research on advanced integrated photonic structures as platforms to enhance and control nonlinear and optomechanical interactions of light with matter. We pursue applications in next-generation microwave photonic signal processing systems and advanced light sources.

Research interests include:

- Integrated microwave photonics

- Brillouin scattering and optomechanics

- Nonlinear nanophotonics

- Silicon nitride photonics

For more information please visit my group website

More detailed publication list can be found here or from my Google Scholar page



Ye, K. , Liu, G. , Daulay, O. , Hoekman, M. , Klein, E. J. , Roeloffzen, C. , & Marpaung, D. (2022). Integrated Microwave Photonic Phase Shifter with Ultrahigh Dynamic Range. In 2022 European Conference on Optical Communication, ECOC 2022 (2022 European Conference on Optical Communication, ECOC 2022). IEEE. https://ieeexplore.ieee.org/document/9979519
Marpaung, D. (2022). Programmable photonic circuits. Journal of Physics: Conference Series, 2274(1), Article 012008. https://doi.org/10.1088/1742-6596/2274/1/012008
Marpaung, D., & Liu, Y. (2022). Stimulated Brillouin scattering for microwave photonics. Semiconductors and Semimetals, 110, 81-105. Advance online publication. https://doi.org/10.1016/bs.semsem.2022.05.003
Zhang, X., Feng, Z. , Marpaung, D., Fokoua, E. N., Sakr, H., Hayes, J. R., Poletti, F., Richardson, D. J., & Slavik, R. (2022). Low-loss microwave photonics links using hollow core fibres. Light : science & applications, 11, Article 213. https://doi.org/10.1038/s41377-022-00908-3

UT Research Information System

Google Scholar Link


I am currently coordinating and teaching the compulsory Applied Physics master course "Small Signals and Detection"

Affiliated Study Programmes


Courses Academic Year  2023/2024

Courses in the current academic year are added at the moment they are finalised in the Osiris system. Therefore it is possible that the list is not yet complete for the whole academic year.

Courses Academic Year  2022/2023

Contact Details

Visiting Address

University of Twente
Faculty of Science and Technology
Horst Complex (building no. 20), room ME126
De Horst 2
7522LW  Enschede
The Netherlands

Navigate to location

Mailing Address

University of Twente
Faculty of Science and Technology
Horst Complex  ME126
P.O. Box 217
7500 AE Enschede
The Netherlands